4.8out of 3,000+ reviews
Updated November 30, 2022
Whether you consider yourself an Arkansan or an Arkansawyer, you’ll likely get moderately priced car insurance in Arkansas. The Bear State has the 28th most-expensive car insurance rates in the country. Drivers pay an average of $214 per month.
Arkansas drivers looking for cheap car insurance can compare quotes to find the best possible rate.
The average cost of car insurance in Arkansas is $214/mo.
State Farm is the cheapest provider in Arkansas with average rates of $74/mo.
The easiest way to cut car insurance costs is to compare quotes online.
Table of contents
- Best cheap car insurance in Arkansas: State Farm
- What to know about minimum insurance requirements in Arkansas
- Tips for getting cheap car insurance in Arkansas
- Liability-only vs. full-coverage insurance in Arkansas
- How your driving history affects Arkansas car insurance rates
- How credit scores affect Arkansas car insurance quotes
- How your city affects Arkansas car insurance quotes
- How your age affects your Arkansas car insurance rates
- Arkansas car insurance FAQs
Best cheap car insurance in Arkansas: State Farm
Best Cheap Car Insurance in Arkansas
The cheapest car insurance provider in Arkansas is State Farm: The company’s average monthly premium of $74 is more than $100 cheaper than the overall average cost of car insurance in the state. Other top insurers with affordable rates in Arkansas include Travelers, GEICO, and Allstate.
|Car Insurance Company||Insurify Composite Score||Average Monthly Quote|
|Midvale Home & Auto||N/A||$218|
Learn More: Best Car Insurance Companies
Insurify Composite Score (ICS)
To calculate the Insurify Composite Score, a proprietary rating, Insurify data scientists weigh multiple factors that reflect the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company.
Inputs to the score include financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch, J.D. Power ratings, Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys and customer complaints, mobile app reviews, and user-generated company reviews.
What to know about minimum car insurance requirements in Arkansas
Arkansas requires insurance for all vehicles that operate on or are parked on state roadways. If you drive in Arkansas, you’ll need to carry proof of insurance in your car at all times. You’ll need to present your proof of insurance when:
A law enforcement officer asks you for it
You want to renew your vehicle registration
The insured vehicle is involved in an accident
The minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in Arkansas are:
$25,000 per person/ $50,000 per accident for bodily injury: As a major part of your liability insurance, bodily injury coverage covers medical bills for people other than the policyholder who are injured during an accident. Arkansas is an at-fault state, meaning the driver who’s responsible for the collision is also responsible for paying for any resulting expenses, either through their car insurance provider or out of pocket.
$25,000 per accident for property damage: If it’s determined that an insured driver is at fault for an accident, this coverage pays for repairs to the property of the other involved parties. Additionally, property damage coverage can cover legal costs if the insured driver is involved in a lawsuit following the accident.
Arkansas DMV information
Every driver in Arkansas will need to visit their local department of motor vehicles (DMV) at one point or another, whether it’s to renew their driver's license, register a vehicle, or check the status of a title. At most DMVs across Arkansas, drivers can pre-register or make an appointment to avoid long wait times when visiting.
Public transportation in Arkansas
The most convenient way to get around Arkansas cities and travel around the state is by car, and most Arkansas residents drive to get from point A to point B. But some public transportation is still available — a daily bus service operates in various cities, such as Little Rock, as well as a Rock Region METRO system.
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
Tips for getting cheap car insurance in Arkansas
Everyone’s situation differs, and insurers consider factors like age, credit score, driving record, and annual mileage when determining insurance rates. But you can take some steps to ensure you get the cheapest offer available to you, including:
Compare quotes from different car insurance companies to find the cheapest and best policy for your unique needs.
Ask about discounts you may qualify for. Some insurers offer discounts for cars with certain safety features, for students with good grades, for bundling car and home insurance, or for people who don’t drive much in a year.
Choose a higher deductible. Generally, a higher deductible equates to a lower insurance premium. Just be sure you can afford to cover the cost of your deductible if an accident occurs.
Improve your credit score. Many states allow insurance companies to consider credit scores when establishing insurance rates.
Choose a vehicle that’s less expensive to insure. High-value vehicles may be more costly to insure, while cars with anti-theft features could qualify for discounts.
Liability-only vs. full-coverage insurance in Arkansas
Generally, drivers have two options for types of insurance — full-coverage or liability-only auto insurance. Often also called “minimum coverage,” liability-only insurance pays for the other driver’s damages and injuries if you cause an accident. You might choose liability-only insurance if:
You have a low-value vehicle.
You can afford to repair or replace your car out of your own pocket.
Getting the cheapest insurance possible is your top priority.
Full-coverage insurance includes basic liability and adds in collision and comprehensive coverage. These option coverages pay for damages to your car, even if you’re at fault for an accident. Comprehensive pays for damages caused by events out of your control, like vandalism, weather, and animals.
Full-coverage insurance is usually more expensive than liability only, but if you’re leasing your car or have an auto loan, your lender or lease company will likely require you to have it. You might also choose full coverage if you have a high-value car that would be expensive to repair, or if you couldn’t afford to make any repairs out of pocket.
The following table shows average monthly rates in Arkansas by policy type.
|Company||Liability Only||Full Coverage|
|Midvale Home & Auto||$138||$218|
How your driving history affects Arkansas car insurance rates
If you have a violation on your driving record, such as a speeding ticket, an at-fault accident, or a DUI, you’ll likely pay higher insurance premiums than drivers with clean records. Insurance providers use your driving history to help determine your rate, and drivers with a history of violations tend to get higher rates. The table below shows the cheapest rates for Arkansas drivers based on their driving history.
See More: High-Risk Car Insurance Arkansas
|Company||Clean Record||At-Fault Accident||DUI||Speeding Ticket|
|Midvale Home & Auto||$202||$316||$332||$286|
See More: DUI Car Insurance Arkansas
SR-22 insurance in Arkansas
An SR-22 is a special form that you may be required to file in order to get back on the road if you have a DUI on your record. Your car insurance company needs to issue the SR-22 to prove that you are financially responsible. The companies listed below, and many more, can help you get SR-22 insurance in Arkansas.
How credit scores affect Arkansas car insurance quotes
Credit history can also be a factor in your car insurance costs. Drivers with good or excellent credit scores tend to see lower monthly rates than drivers with poor credit. Historically, drivers with excellent and good credit tend to account for fewer paid claims than drivers with a bad credit history.
See More: Bad Credit Car Insurance Arkansas
How your city affects Arkansas car insurance quotes
Even within the same state, drivers will see variations in car insurance costs between cities. For example, drivers in Springdale see average monthly rates as low as $221, while drivers in Pine Bluff can expect to pay nearly $300 per month on average.
|Car Insurance Company||Average Monthly Quote|
|North Little Rock||$235|
How your age affects your Arkansas car insurance rates
Your age is one of the most significant factors in determining your car insurance rates. Young drivers (teen drivers and drivers younger than 25) will pay the highest monthly premiums due to their lack of experience behind the wheel. Drivers in their 50s, 60s, and 70s see lower rates and pay nearly $300 less for car insurance per month than teen drivers.
Cheap car insurance for young drivers
Although young drivers see the highest rates when compared to other age groups, teenagers and drivers in their 20s can still find affordable full-coverage car insurance. Some of the cheapest car insurance companies for young drivers in Arkansas are Travelers, Nationwide, and Progressive.
|Company||Full Coverage||Liability Only||At-Fault Accident||DUI|
|Midvale Home & Auto||$286||$200||$330||$270|
Cheap car insurance for middle-aged drivers in Arkansas
Middle-aged drivers see much lower premiums than young drivers and can likely find affordable full-coverage or liability-only car insurance. A full-coverage policy will likely cost more than one that provides the minimum required coverage, but driving infractions can increase premiums.
|Insurance Company||Liability Only||Full Coverage||With Accident||With DUI|
|Midvale Home & Auto||$192||$118||$236||$362|
Cheap car insurance for senior drivers in Arkansas
When senior drivers reach their 70s and 80s, they can see slightly higher rates than middle-aged drivers. Still, they can still find very affordable coverage. Travelers offers the lowest average rates for full-coverage car insurance in Arkansas for senior drivers, but you should always compare quotes to find the best rate.
|Insurance Company||Liability Only||Full Coverage||With Accident||With DUI|
|Midvale Home & Auto||$164||$104||N/A||$152|
Arkansas car insurance FAQs
Drivers in Arkansas have plenty of options for affordable car insurance. The cheapest top provider overall in the state is State Farm, with average premiums of $74 per month. Young drivers under the age of 25, who generally face the highest insurance rates, see the cheapest liability-only rates with Progressive at an average cost of $146 per month.
Plenty of cheap insurance providers are available in Arkansas for drivers with different violations. Travelers, Nationwide, and State Farm are some of the top companies offering relatively cheap car insurance coverage for drivers with traffic violations.
Young drivers see the highest average rates for car insurance coverage in Arkansas. In fact, Arkansas drivers in their teens can expect to pay over $200 more per month than the state average and nearly $300 more per month than middle-aged drivers in Arkansas. Additionally, drivers with DUIs and at-fault accidents in their recent driving history face steep rate increases.
Increasing heavy rainfall, flooding, and other storms in recent years in Arkansas have also contributed to the high cost of car insurance. Weather events are unpredictable and generally lead to insurers paying out a higher number of claims.
The average cost of car insurance in Arkansas is $214 per month or $2,568 annually. However, your rate may vary based on your driving profile. Your age, credit history, and driving history will all determine the cost of your car insurance premiums.
Teen drivers, drivers under the age of 25, and drivers with violations on their records will usually pay the most for car insurance in Arkansas. However, young and high-risk drivers can still find affordable monthly rates from top companies — Progressive, Travelers, and Nationwide all have relatively low average costs for drivers with violations and for drivers under the age of 25.
Based on Insurify Composite Scores, average rates, financial strength and industry ratings, and customer and claims satisfaction, the best car insurance companies in Arkansas include State Farm, USAA, and GEICO. Smaller insurers like Erie and Safeco also present Arizonans with quality coverage options at cheap monthly rates of $128 and $161, respectively.
State Farm policyholders benefit from a rate of $74 per month and solid financial stability, with an A++ rating from A.M. Best. USAA customers pay $95 per month on average, and the company earned an A++ rating from A.M. Best. At $124 per month, GEICO car insurance costs more by comparison, but the company also earned an A++ rating from A.M. Best.
Yes, car insurance is required in Arkansas and all Arkansas drivers are required to carry the state minimum liability insurance. In Arkansas, all drivers must carry $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury, and $25,000 per accident for property damage.
Liability-only car insurance will pay for claims if you're involved in an at-fault accident. However, only carrying minimum liability insurance leaves you at risk. Purchasing full-coverage car insurance, which includes collision and comprehensive car insurance coverage, is a good way to ensure that you'll be fully protected when driving.
Car insurance follows the car in Arkansas in most cases. If you let someone else drive your car and they get into an accident, they’ll be covered by your liability insurance coverage — bodily injury liability will cover the cost of injuries to the other driver, and property damage liability will pay for any damage to the other driver's car.
However, it’s never a good idea to let anyone without an insurance policy drive your car. In Arkansas, if the cost of injuries and damages exceed your policy limits in the event that someone driving your car gets into an accident, their policy will kick in and cover any remaining costs.
In Arkansas, drivers are not required to carry PIP coverage. Because Arkansas is an at-fault state — a state where in the case of an accident, the driver who causes the crash is liable for compensating the other involved driver(s) for any losses — Arkansas drivers are only required to carry liability coverage. However, PIP is available should you want it.
In Arkansas, a full-coverage car insurance policy generally includes the state minimum liability coverage plus optional collision and comprehensive coverage. Although additional coverage is more costly than the state minimum required coverage, purchasing full-coverage insurance will ensure that you’re protected on the road.
Collision insurance will cover the cost of repairs to your car in the event of an accident. Comprehensive coverage, on the other hand, will cover replacement or repair costs for any damage that is not the result of a car accident. Damage from natural disasters, fires, falling objects, and animals are all covered by comprehensive insurance.
How Arkansas Drivers Measure Up
While most drivers know that car insurance quotes are determined in part by your personal driving history, many may be unaware that rates are also impacted by the average risk of the drivers around you as well. Check out Insurify's latest analysis of driving records in Arkansas below:
Drawing from an internal database of over 4 million car insurance applications, the research team at Insurify analyzes patterns in car ownership and driver behavior - including how Arkansas drivers measure up to their fellow motorists across the United States in areas including speeding, DUIs, and more.
Insurify Insights publishes data-driven articles, trend analyses, and national rankings each week on all factors related to cars and those who drive them.
Ford F-Series Pickup
Most Popular Car in Arkansas
State with the Most Speeding Tickets Rank
State with the Moving Violations Rank
State with the Most DUIs Rank
State with the most Suspended Licenses
While car accidents are a sadly unavoidable feature of time spent on the road, rates of accidents do vary from city to city and from state to state. Arkansas is the #27 state in the country for drivers with an at-fault accident on their driving record.
- Rank among states: #27
- Percent of drivers in Arkansas with an accident: 8.5%
While driving while intoxicated is never acceptable, it’s a more common offense than many assume. Arkansas is the #19 state in the country for drivers with a prior drunk driving conviction.
- Rank among states: #19
- Percent of drivers in Arkansas with a DUI: 1.6%
Reckless driving refers to a specific traffic violation: when drivers willfully act dangerously in spite of the risks they’re imposing on both themselves and others. Arkansas is the #40 state in the country for drivers with a reckless driving offense on record.
- Rank among states: #40
- Percent of drivers in Arkansas with a reckless driving offense: 1%
The Insurify team classifies rude drivers as those who commit one or more of the following driving offenses: failure to yield or failure to stop, improper backing, passing where prohibited, tailgating, street racing, or hit-and-run. Arkansas is the #39 state in the country for drivers with a rude driving violation on record.
- Rank among states: #39
- Percent of drivers in Arkansas with a rude driving violation: 1.1%
Exceeding the speed limit can endanger others and have a serious impact on your insurance costs. Arkansas is the #26 state in the country for drivers with a speeding ticket on record.
- Rank among states: #26
- Percent of drivers in Arkansas with a speeding ticket: 8.4%
Failing to yield the right of way isn’t just frustrating for other drivers; it’s dangerous, too. Arkansas is the #18 state in the country for drivers with a failure to yield violation on record.
- Rank among states: #18
- Percent of drivers in Arkansas with a failure to yield violation: 0.2%
Insurify's team of data scientists and content specialists presents Insurify Insights, a series of automotive, home, and health studies focusing on the topics that impact us all. through expert analysis of over 4 million car insurance applications and an array of top data sources, the Insurify Insights team produces new data-driven articles, trend analyses, regional superlatives, and national rankings every week. See Insurify Insights as featured in Forbes, Fox News, USA Today, NPR, and more.
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
Data scientists at Insurify analyzed more than 40 million real-time auto insurance rates from our partner providers across the United States to compile the car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations displayed on this page. The car insurance data includes coverage analysis and details on drivers' vehicles, driving records, and demographic information. Quotes for Allstate, Farmers, GEICO, State Farm, and USAA are estimates based on Quadrant Information Service's database of auto insurance rates. With these insights, Insurify is able to offer drivers insight into how companies price their car insurance premiums.
- Arkansas Insurance Department. "State Minimum Car insurance." Accessed May 28, 2022
- dmv.org. "Driving Records in Arkansas." Accessed September 2, 2022
- Arkansas Insurance Department. "Understanding How Insurers Use Credit Information." Accessed September 2, 2022
- Insurance Information Institute. "Automobile Financial Responsibility Laws By State." Accessed September 2, 2022