4.8out of 3,000+ reviews
Updated December 7, 2022
Utah has nearly 93,000 miles of roadways, including nearly 3,000 miles of interstate highways, according to U.S. Department of Transportation data. All those wide open roadways could play a role in Utah’s relatively cheap car insurance rates. The average Beehive State motorist pays just $223 per month for car insurance, and the state ranks 23rd among the states with the cheapest car insurance.
The average cost of car insurance in Utah is $223/mo.
Travelers is the cheapest provider in Utah, with average rates of $111/mo.
The easiest way to cut car insurance costs is to compare quotes online.
Table of contents
- Best cheap car insurance in Utah: Travelers
- What to know about minimum car insurance requirements in Utah
- Tips for getting cheap car insurance in Utah
- Liability-only vs. full-coverage insurance in Utah
- How your driving history affects Utah car insurance rates
- How credit scores affect Utah car insurance quotes
- How your city affects Utah insurance quotes
- How your age affects your Utah car insurance rates
- Utah car insurance FAQs
Best cheap car insurance in Utah: Travelers
Best Cheap Car Insurance
Average car insurance rates in Utah range from just $111 per month from Travelers to $581 per month from Amica. The wide range of rates illustrates why it’s important to comparison shop for the lowest rates available to you.
The following table explores average monthly car insurance rates for top insurance companies in Utah.
|Car Insurance Company||Insurify Composite Score||Average Monthly Quote|
|Midvale Home & Auto||N/A||$177|
Learn More: Best Car Insurance Companies
Insurify Composite Score (ICS)
To calculate the Insurify Composite Score, a proprietary rating, Insurify data scientists and insurance experts weigh multiple factors that reflect the quality, reliability, and health of an insurance company.
Inputs to the score include J.D. Power ratings, Consumer Reports customer satisfaction surveys and customer complaints, mobile app reviews, user-generated company reviews, and financial strength ratings from A.M. Best, Standard & Poor’s, Moody’s, and Fitch.
What to know about minimum car insurance requirements in Utah
All motor vehicles operated or parked on Utah roadways are required to be insured. Proof of insurance must be carried in your car at all times and must be available when:
Requested by law enforcement
Renewing vehicle registration
The vehicle is involved in a car accident
The minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles in Utah are:
$25,000 per person for bodily injury coverage, which pays medical bills for people other than the policyholder who are injured during an accident.
$65,000 per accident for bodily injury coverage
$15,00 per accident for property damage liability coverage
$3,000 personal injury protection because Utah is a no-fault state. PIP pays for our medical expenses in case of an accident.
Utah DMV information
The Utah Division of Motor Vehicles oversees car registration in the state. The Driver License Division oversees licensing of drivers — they’re two separate agencies. DMV services include:
The DMV provides online services that include applying for a license plate, renewing vehicle registration, reporting a vehicle sold, updating home addresses, finding impounded vehicles, and more.
To apply for a learner’s permit or license, you’ll have to go through the DLD, which operates locations throughout the state.
Public transportation in Utah
While you’ll need a vehicle to reach many areas in Utah, the Utah Transportation Authority does operate bus and rail lines in the following counties:
You can find information, routes and schedules on the UTA website.
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
Tips for getting cheap car insurance in Utah
Practicing good driving habits and maintaining a clean driving record are the best ways to get cheap car insurance anywhere. Comparing car insurance quotes when you’re ready to renew or change your policy is another helpful tactic.
By comparing quotes and policies, you can get an idea of any discounts you may qualify for, find a competitive rate, and ensure you have exactly the coverages you need.
Liability-only vs. full-coverage insurance in Utah
If you live in Utah, you can opt to carry liability-only auto insurance, which pays for expenses related to injuries and damage to the other party’s car if you cause an accident. Each state sets its own minimums for how much liability insurance it requires drivers to carry. Liability-only insurance can make sense if:
You have a low-value vehicle.
You can afford to repair or replace your car out of your own pocket.
Getting the cheapest insurance possible is your top priority.
For a higher level of protection, you can choose full-coverage insurance, which includes basic liability plus collision and comprehensive coverage. Collision coverage pays for damages to your car, even if you’re at fault for an accident. Comprehensive coverage pays for damages caused by events out of your control, like vandalism, weather, and animals. Auto lenders and leasing companies typically require drivers to carry full coverage on a car they’ve financed.
You may also opt for full coverage if:
You have a high-value vehicle.
You wouldn’t be able to afford to repair or replace your car out of pocket.
Your car’s actual cash value (the payout you’d likely get if your car is totaled) exceeds your annual premium to carry full coverage.
Here’s a look at the cheapest auto insurance in Utah by policy type.
|Car Insurance Company|
Average Monthly Quote:
Average Monthly Quote:
|Midvale Home & Auto||$120||$177|
See More: High-Risk Car Insurance Utah
How your driving history affects Utah car insurance rates
Your driving history is the factor that most influences your car insurance costs. Good drivers — whose records are free of serious traffic violations like speeding tickets or reckless driving — tend to get the best car insurance rates in Utah. But infractions like driving under the influence or at-fault accidents can significantly increase insurance costs.
Here’s a look at average monthly quotes for the cheapest car insurance in Utah based on driving and accident history.
|Car Insurance Company||Clean Record||At-Fault Accident||With a DUI||Speeding Ticket|
|Midvale Home & Auto||$153||$203||$293||$202|
See More: SR-22 Car Insurance Utah
SR-22 insurance in Utah
If your vehicle registration lapses or your license is revoked, the state of Utah will require you to get an SR-22 form from a licensed insurance company or agent. The form proves you have insurance coverage for your vehicle.
The following insurance companies offer SR-22 insurance in Utah:
How credit scores affect Utah car insurance quotes
Generally, people with excellent or good credit scores can qualify for lower car insurance premiums than people with average or poor credit scores. Although some states ban the practice, Utah allows insurance companies to consider credit history when making decisions about car insurance premiums.
The following table provides an idea of the impact credit score can have on insurance costs in Utah.
|Credit Tier||Average Monthly Quote|
See More: Bad Credit Car Insurance Utah
How your city affects Utah insurance quotes
Location is one of many factors that influence car insurance rates. Even within the same state, insurance rates can vary greatly from city to city. For example, residents of Ogden, Utah on average pay $160 per month for car insurance — $119 less than drivers in Lehi, where the average rate is $279. The table below shows average monthly rates for different cities in Utah.
|Car Insurance Company||Average Monthly Quote|
|Salt Lake City||$190|
|West Valley City||$202|
How your age affects your Utah car insurance rates
Because insurers generally equate age with experience level, your age will significantly affect how much you pay for car insurance. New drivers, who tend to be teens or people in their early 20s, typically pay more for insurance than drivers 25 and older.
The following table gives a high-level view of how age can affect insurance rates.
Quotes for younger drivers
Multiple other factors influence how much drivers in each age group will pay for car insurance. Some will increase rates for one age group more than another, while others will impact all age groups evenly.
The following table compares how different insurance factors affect average monthly rates for drivers younger than 30.
|Car Insurance Company||Liability Only||Full Coverage||With an Accident||With a DUI|
|Midvale Home & Auto||$169||$219||$312||$362|
Quotes for middle-aged drivers
As you age and gain driving experience, car insurance rates typically fall. But traffic infractions like speeding tickets, at-fault accidents, or driving under the influence can push rates higher. The following table compares how different insurance factors affect average monthly rates for drivers between 30 and 59.
|Car Insurance Company||Liability Only||Full Coverage||With an Accident||With a DUI|
|Midvale Home & Auto||$107||$141||N/A||$267|
Quotes for senior drivers
Car insurance rates for seniors are typically the lowest for any age group. However, accidents and other driving violations can increase rates for senior drivers. The following table compares how different insurance factors affect average monthly rates for drivers 59 and older in Utah.
|Car Insurance Company||Liability Only||Full Coverage||With Accident||With DUI|
|Midvale Home & Auto||$96||$144||N/A||$269|
Utah car insurance FAQs
Overall, Travelers has the cheapest average monthly rate in Utah, at just $111. For liability-only car insurance, Sun Coast offers policies as low as $79 per month on average. Travelers also has the lowest average monthly rate for full coverage, also $111. Keep in mind the actual rate you receive can vary, based on factors unique to your circumstances and driving history.
Many factors can increase car insurance rates, including your driving record, where you live and work, how many miles you drive per year, your age, gender, and credit history.
The average cost of car insurance in Utah is $233 per month, placing the state at 23rd for cheapest insurance in the nation.
Travelers, Nationwide, USAA and State Farm have some of the lowest average car insurance rates in the state. All have Insurify Composite Scores of 80 or higher, with USAA ranking the highest at 96.
Yes, you’ll need to buy personal injury protection (PIP) coverage in Utah. This is because Utah is a no-fault state, which means when two (or more parties) are involved in an accident, each driver’s insurance pays for their own medical expenses. In no-fault states, your ability to sue the other party in an accident is limited, even if the other driver caused the accident.
Yes, Utah requires all drivers to carry at least a minimum amount of liability and PIP coverage. In fact, only New Hampshire doesn’t require car insurance — but drivers must be able to demonstrate they can cover the cost of an accident if they cause one.
In Utah, the car insurance follows the car — but only the physical damage portion of your insurance. This means if you loan your car to someone who’s not insured under your policy and they get into a wreck, your policy would cover your damages only if you have collision and comprehensive coverages.
Full-coverage insurance typically includes liability coverage that meets at least a state’s minimum requirements, and optional collision and comprehensive coverage.
How Utah Drivers Measure Up
While most drivers know that car insurance quotes are determined in part by your personal driving history, many may be unaware that rates are also impacted by the average risk of the drivers around you as well. Check out Insurify's latest analysis of driving records in Utah below:
Drawing from an internal database of over 4 million car insurance applications, the research team at Insurify analyzes patterns in car ownership and driver behavior - including how Utah drivers measure up to their fellow motorists across the United States in areas including speeding, DUIs, and more.
Insurify Insights publishes data-driven articles, trend analyses, and national rankings each week on all factors related to cars and those who drive them.
Ford F-Series Pickup
Most Popular Car in Utah
State with the Most Speeding Tickets Rank
State with the Moving Violations Rank
State with the Most DUIs Rank
State with the most Suspended Licenses
While car accidents are a sadly unavoidable feature of time spent on the road, rates of accidents do vary from city to city and from state to state. Utah is the #14 state in the country for drivers with an at-fault accident on their driving record.
- Rank among states: #14
- Percent of drivers in Utah with an accident: 9.7%
While driving while intoxicated is never acceptable, it’s a more common offense than many assume. Utah is the #11 state in the country for drivers with a prior drunk driving conviction.
- Rank among states: #11
- Percent of drivers in Utah with a DUI: 2%
Reckless driving refers to a specific traffic violation: when drivers willfully act dangerously in spite of the risks they’re imposing on both themselves and others. Utah is the #18 state in the country for drivers with a reckless driving offense on record.
- Rank among states: #18
- Percent of drivers in Utah with a reckless driving offense: 1.5%
The Insurify team classifies rude drivers as those who commit one or more of the following driving offenses: failure to yield or failure to stop, improper backing, passing where prohibited, tailgating, street racing, or hit-and-run. Utah is the #16 state in the country for drivers with a rude driving violation on record.
- Rank among states: #16
- Percent of drivers in Utah with a rude driving violation: 1.8%
Exceeding the speed limit can endanger others and have a serious impact on your insurance costs. Utah is the #12 state in the country for drivers with a speeding ticket on record.
- Rank among states: #12
- Percent of drivers in Utah with a speeding ticket: 10.8%
Failing to yield the right of way isn’t just frustrating for other drivers; it’s dangerous, too. Utah is the #42 state in the country for drivers with a failure to yield violation on record.
- Rank among states: #42
- Percent of drivers in Utah with a failure to yield violation: 0.1%
Insurify's team of data scientists and content specialists presents Insurify Insights, a series of automotive, home, and health studies focusing on the topics that impact us all. through expert analysis of over 4 million car insurance applications and an array of top data sources, the Insurify Insights team produces new data-driven articles, trend analyses, regional superlatives, and national rankings every week. See Insurify Insights as featured in Forbes, Fox News, USA Today, NPR, and more.
Compare Car Insurance Quotes Instantly
Data scientists at Insurify analyzed more than 40 million real-time auto insurance rates from our partner providers across the United States to compile the car insurance quotes, statistics, and data visualizations displayed on this page. The car insurance data includes coverage analysis and details on drivers' vehicles, driving records, and demographic information. Quotes for Allstate, Farmers, GEICO, State Farm, and USAA are estimates based on Quadrant Information Service's database of auto insurance rates. With these insights, Insurify is able to offer drivers insight into how companies price their car insurance premiums.
- U.S. Department of Transportation Federal Highway Administration. "Estimated lane-miles by functional system." Accessed December 7, 2022
- Rocky Mountain Insurance Information Association. "Utah Auto Insurance Requirements." Accessed December 7, 2022
- Utah Division of Motor Vehicles. "Division of Motor Vehicles." Accessed December 7, 2022
- Utah Transportation Authority. "Utah Transportation Authority." Accessed December 7, 2022
- National Conference of State Legislatures. "States Consider Limits on Insurers’ Use of Consumer Credit Info." Accessed December 7, 2022